A single Silent Witness Makes her own Impact

I am getting a red domestic violence figurine for the start of my
knitting group here at school. I found out where Carmen Brown (SW
figurine’s name)was. I asked one of the teachers who I work with if
she could pick it up for me because she lived closer to her than I
did. She said she would get it for me. The next day she sent me this
email on why she did not bring Carmen to school the next day. Which
was fine because I don’t need Carmen until September 21. Here’s what I
my teacher friend said:

So – I picked up Carmen yesterday, and she now sits – rather, stands –
on my screened-in porch. Here’s why I’m going to keep her…this may
be TMI, but I’d like to say it, anyhow…
my daughter,(with baby her baby ) is coming into town tomorrow,
staying with me through Sunday. Of all the children, my daughter is
the one who is beginning to “get” why I left a 30-year marriage (and,
the kids feel, “left” them, too). I’m going to keep Carmen Brown on my
front porch, and I’m going to give my daughter one of the books I’ve
read in the past 3 years, one she asked me to lend her this summer,
but at the time I hesitated, because I didn’t think she was ready to
read about abusive men and their victim-partners. Now, I realize *I*
wasn’t ready for her to have the information it contains! Anyhow,
for, for now, it’s a start. I’ll let Carmen Brown help me out.
Again, thank you.

Funny how things work out. And isn’t interesting the things that we
don’t know.
Blessings,
Renee

2 thoughts on “A single Silent Witness Makes her own Impact

  1. nlrafi September 13, 2007 at 11:47 am Reply

    I love these storie Renee. It’s what keeps me going! We have so many similar stories here in Rhode Island.

    A family of one of our Silent Witnesses was ready to attend one of our candlelight marches and they called us to ask what to expect. I gave them a basic overview of how we light candles in memory of domestic violence murder victims and how we march through the street carrying the Witnesses, led by a bagpiper and mounted police officers. On the day of the event, our SW family came to the church – mom, dad, 2 sisters, 2 aunts, and the 2 children. They walked up to where their loved one’s Silent Witness stood and quietly surrounded her and read the story on her shield. WHen the time came to carry the Witnesses in the march, dad knocked over his chair and ran up to the place where his daughter’s silhouette was, because he wanted to make sure that he could carry her before anyone else chose to. The whole family gathered him and they participated in the march.

    But what I’ll remember most about that day was after the event was over. Mom came up to me and gave me a huge hug, and then she whispered in my ear – “Thank you so much for allowing me to wrap my arms around my daughter one more time. I never got a chance to say goodbye.” It has been such a privilege to work with my Silent Witness families, and to let them know that their loved ones are not forgotten, and perhaps in some small way, help them move forward in their healing process. It’s why I love this work.

  2. silentwitness September 26, 2007 at 6:18 pm Reply

    Thank you, Nancy for the recollection of a moment when the work of SW made a healing impact upon this family! The image I received from the story is that the family gathered around the image of their loved one fueled by the solidarity they feel that lead to honoring her life. Her father’s actions indicate that he is still “carrying” her in his heart. This is true dignity, a necessary element in healing DV in our lifetime. Thank you for the passionate and effective work you are doing in your community! Jacquie

Leave a Reply

