Additional Information regarding Knitting a Paul’s Seaman’s Scarf

I have charted this pattern, but I — who loves to knit from charts — found it easier to knit from the written word than from the chart.

This is a rather wide scarf, so you likely will want to use a sport weight yarn and an appropriate sized needle for your knitting tension.  To show off the W formed by the knit/purl combination it is necessary out this scarf, pulling it rather wide.

If you are making this scarf from an acrylic or an acrylic blend I recommend that you use the process generally referred to as “killing the acrylic,” which gets rid of the memory.  This is done by washing the scarf, dressing it out to the size and shape desire – pinning it well (I use my Dressing Wires), placing a damp terry towel over it and using your steam iron to set the steam into the scarf.  The combination of heat and steam removes the memory from the acrylic.

If you do not plan to dress out this scarf wide, I recommend that you reduce the number of stitches before working the bottom seed stitch border.  This pattern forms a staggered ribbing; to best reveal the W formed by the staggered ribbing dressing is necessary.  If you (a) don’t dress this scarf wide but (b) do use the seed stitch border the ends will flare out, giving a look I don’t care for.

I have written the instructions so that the neckline ribbing is knit first, then the provisional cast-on is taken out, a second ball of yarn is used, and the two ends of the scarf are knit at the same time.  I like to knit both tails of the scarf at the same time because (a) tension does sometimes vary from day to day; (b) I don’t have to check to see if the tails are the same length; (c) I don’t have to worry about running out of yarn and having one tail shorter than the other; and (d) if I make a “design feature” [what some people call a mistake] the design feature likely will be the same in both tails.

Leave a Reply

