Boise, Idaho has great response

Several weeks ago, while at the newest yarn shop in the Boise area, I was visiting with the owners when the subject of shawls came up.  They were interested in learning more about the different types of shawls.  I asked if they would be interested in sponsoring a service project for Sheila’s Shawls and in return I would give a “show and tell” of different types of shawls.  They readily accepted.  Today was the day selected — and it was a great experience.

First I talked about the Sheila’s Shawls and Paul’s Scarves Program.  Following that I talked a bit about Alix’s Lace Prayer Shawl, my shawl pattern that is in Debbie Macomber’s third knitting related novel, “Back on Blossom Street” (being released this month).  Then I talked about and showed Shetland, Orenburg, Estonian, Faroese-shaped and triangular shawls.  We ended by again talking about the Sheila’s Shawls and Paul’s Scarves program.

I brought with me a good supply of yarns.  Some yarns were from my stash, some had been given to me, and some I had purchased from Southwest Trading Company specifically for this program (discontinued yarn, so I was able to get it for a very good price),  I had prepared three pattern handouts – one with four simple garter stitch shawls, one with Alix’s Lace Prayer Shawl, and one with the scarf I designed for Paul’s Scarves and an “agreement form.”  Anyone who agreed to knit a shawl for Sheila’s shawl could take yarn and a pattern.  In return each person completed the agreement form giving the details of the yarn taken and an anticipated completion date of the project.

We received seven commitments for shawls and one for a scarf.  I didn’t count how many people attended, but I believe there were about a dozen.  One who attended had already committed to knit a shawl.  Another knitter called me that she would not be able to attend but does wish to knit a shawl.

I left the patterns, agreement forms and some yarn at the yarn shop.  I also left three shawls I had knit with the SWTC yarn and the one Paul’s scarf so that the shop can display them to entice more knitters to participate in this program.

I’m  very pleased with how things went today, and I’m eagerly looking forward to seeing this program bloom in Idaho.

I earlier visited with the director of our local women’s shelter.  She is thrilled that we have undertaken this project.

Leave a Reply

