Extreme Makeover October 2007 in Minnesota

While Hopkins teachers Erik and Vicki Swenson and their family visit
the Magic Kingdom, a team of designers, builders and volunteers is
creating magic of their own for the family, who will return to a new
house more than twice the size of the one they left earlier this week.

The Swensons received the news Aug. 21 that they had been chosen for a
segment of ABC-TV’s “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition,” which selects
two dozen deserving families each season to receive new, custom-built
homes as a result of challenging circumstances. Shortly after the
news, the family left on vacation, and work began on their new home.

Fellow educators in Hopkins nominated the Swensons after the death of
Vicki’s sister. Teri Lee was shot and killed in her Washington County
home by an abusive ex-boyfriend Sept. 22, 2006, in front of her
11-year-old daughter. Lee’s husband died in a car accident several
years earlier.

The Swenson-Lee family
The Swensons, who have three daughters — a 10-year-old and
18-month-old twins — adopted Lee’s four children, who range in age
now from 6 to 12. And the Swensons are expecting a daughter in early
November, bringing their family of nine to a total of 10.

After leaving their three-bedroom, 2 1/2-bath, 2,300-square-foot home,
they’ll return Tuesday to a home with 5,600 square feet, seven
bedrooms and five bathrooms. The project will be featured in a
two-hour special edition Nov. 25, the show’s 100th episode.

Vicki not only opened her home to her nieces and nephews, but became
an advocate to protect women and children from domestic abuse, helping
write two bills to provide greater protections. She’s a family and
consumer sciences teacher on leave of absence, although she recently
returned to Hopkins to coach volleyball. Erik, an Education Minnesota
member, is a world studies teacher at the high school.

Nominating the family isn’t the only support colleagues have shown
them since the tragedy. Local union members worked with the
administration, community and students on a benefit last fall that
raised $175,000 for the family. Colleagues also helped establish a
fund for donations. For information, visit http://www.swensonlee.com, or send
donations to:

Children of Teri Lee Memorial Fund
c/o Lake Elmo Bank
11465 39th St. N.
Lake Elmo, MN 55042

2 thoughts on “Extreme Makeover October 2007 in Minnesota

  1. mccart July 11, 2013 at 6:47 pm Reply

    My life is back!!! After 8 years of marriage, my husband left me with our three kids. I felt like my life was about to end, and was falling apart. I contacted you and after I explained you my problem. In just 4 days, my husband came back to us and show me and my kids much love and apologize for all the pain he have bring to the family. We solved our issues, and we are even happier than before you are the best spell caster priest Aluta i really appreciate the love spell you casted for me to get back the love of my life i will keep sharing more testimonies to people about your good work Thank you once again at traditionalspellhospital incase you are in any problem you can contact this man for help he is always there in his temple to help you solve your problem Contact Email is traditionalspellhospital @ gmail.com

  2. Dr Kamacho August 10, 2014 at 8:43 pm Reply

    My name is Beatrice James.This is a very joyful day of my life because of the help Dr Kamachu has rendered to me by helping me get my ex husband back with his magic and love spell. i was married for 6 years and it was so terrible because my husband was really cheating on me and was seeking for a divorce but when i came across Dr Kamachu email on the internet on how he help so many people to get their ex back and help fixing relationship.and make people to be happy in their relationship. i explained my situation to him and then seek his help but to my greatest surprise he told me that he will help me with my case and here i am now celebrating because my Husband has change totally for good. He always want to be by me and can not do anything without my present. i am really enjoying my marriage, what a great celebration. i will keep on testifying on the internet because Dr Kamachu is truly a real spell caster. DO YOU NEED HELP THEN CONTACT Doctor Kamachu NOW VIA EMAIL: traditionalspellcentre@gmail.com He is the only answer to your problem and make you feel happy in your relationship.

Leave a Reply

